Crush cosmetics mini haul & review! 

Yesterday I wrote up a review on a great eyeshadow palette by Crush Cosmetics, it was part of a “mini haul” of some affordable products I wanted to test out, but blew me away so much it got it’s own review. I’ll cover the rest here, as well as my experience with Crush Cosmetics! 

Ordering: The website is dead easy to use, I had no issues finding the products I was after, or sorting through the options I had for them. Checkout is simple and pretty much has any option avaliable to pay (they also have afterpay, which is a amaaazing, particularly because I have a little one, and budgeting is a must) I ordered on a Saturday, being my only down time and the order was confirmed before 11am Monday. I got everything on the Wednesday following. 

Packaging: These guys are serious about goods not getting damaged in transport! The box was pretty big, entirely due to the air cushions they packed in well. My shadow palette was individually bubble wrapped, as were a blusher and bronzer, and the pencil & lip products were packed into a little Crush Cosmetics bag. Compared to Sephora and Mecca where I got little parcels and had a couple of eye shadows come broken, this shows they care A LOT about their customers. 

The products:  

(Please excuse my cat, she hates not having 100% attention on her and made a few good attempts at eating my pencils before I could even get this shot 😂) 

Wet n Wild Coloricon Khol Eyeliner in Calling your Buff: I am seriously regretting not getting more colours of this one, as you can see it’s a good 4-5cm longer than the average pencil, but still very easy to use . The product is creamy, and goes on solidly. I use this one mainly to define my  brow (colour is perfect) and to line my waterline, as I prefer a nude, natural colour to stark white. It stayed on my brow for the full day, I did have to touch up my waterline after about 4 hours but I have very watery eyes so that happens with everything. It also does a great job of adding subtle highlights to my cupids bow. It may not show on fair skin but light-medium is prefect for it! 

MUA Intense Colour eyeliner in Rich Brown: I’m not a fan of black eyeliner day to day, it looks a bit harsh on me, but the only alternate I had before this was a grayish colour “made for” blue eyes. This eyeliner is standard size, and has an inbuilt sharpener in the lid (I love these, as I can never find my separate sharpener) The product itself is very creamy and goes on in a solid line. I was a bit too heavy handed the first time I used it, so make sure you use a light touch or it could get messy! I use this just to darken my upper lash line and if I feel adventurous my lower as well (I stick to a very natural look so when I bust that out its a special moment) I didn’t find the staying power that great, after about 2-3 hours it was only on the line of my actual lashes, but setting with a brown eyeshadow I got 7 hours from it. For a dew dollars I didn’t expect much more, it won’t blow your mind but it won’t disappoint either. 

Milani stay put brow colour in 02-Natural Taupe:  I very recently switched back to my natural blonde after a stint with light brown hair, and needed a cheaper option for my brows as the brown I had was workable, but a bit dark. I had seen a few reviews comparing this to ABH dipbrow and figured it was worth a go. Just personally, I rate this above ABH and would be more likely to reach for it. It comes in a smaller pot than ABH, still big enough for any eyebrow brush and I will likely get through this one before it starts drying!  The product is quite soft, not too creamy and not gel-like, and goes on quite naturally. I love this as my brows are pretty sparse, and it let’s me mimic natural hairs very well. Staying power is incredible, 8+ hours in Aus Summer, and it doesn’t budge (I do also use a powder which helps to set it in place) If you like a really defined, sharp brow it’s harder to achieve that, but for a natural, soft look I probably won’t look anywhere else! 

MUA Intense Colour lip liner in softly lined: I messed up a little here, in the pictures displaying colour this was a gorgeous soft pink which seemed similar to my natural lips. It’s actually quite sparkly which doesn’t mesh with my usual  natural look! The product itself is great, soft and sharp, and does a great job at lining the lips. It stayed in place until I had lunch (oils are the enemy) but went back on very smoothly and stayed again until the end of my day. Since that test I’ve found this is actually a nice colour to add to the center of my lips for a more 3D, full look. Just be wary when colour picking and search your butt off for reviews! 

Wet n Wild lipstick in Don’t blink pink: This product was my only deliberately unnatural pick of the bunch! It’s a very vibrant pink (almost neon) and looks divine. It comes In your standard lipstick tube with a clear lid (yay for easily being able to pick products). A little bit of a tacky feel when it’s being applied but the finish is still quite nice. I strongly recommend a balm before applying. My biggest issue with this was the shap of the product, it’s on a flat angle (no points) which might work for more natural colours but it’s too messy for a bright colour. I use a brush to apply it so I can remain In control. It didn’t hold up as well as some, I had to retouch every 2ish hours, which is ok on apply night out (I would be in the bathroom that often anyway) but for a full day at work etc it wouldn’t be my first choice. 

LA Colours pout lipgloss (matte) in let’s kiss: I love matte lips when they’re done well. The cute little bottle here sucked me in a bit, but the product is pretty darn good as well. It does take a bit of effort to make work so be prepared for that. Firstly USE A BALM. This is not negotiable. It can get flaky without one. Secondly the doe foot applicator here is a bit on the larger side so you may be better off using a brush particularly on smaller lips. That aside, the colour is absolutely gorgeous, a nice nude that’s subtley pink, and once it’s on it stays on, freakishly well. Maybe too well. It was not easy to get off at the end of the day. If you’re looking to add some price friendly options to your collection and don’t mind the prep these are awesome. I prefer this to my L.A Girl equivalent, definitely not address good as kylie or the Balm, but good for everyday when using a $50 lipgloss per week is not an option (so for most of us!)

NYC Smooth skin bronzing powder in 720 Sunny: This works for me, but if you want a very defined bronze look it won’t work for you, no real way around  that bluntness ! I use bronzer very lightly, just to add ultra subtle definition to the outside of my face, cheeks and nose. It might be hard to see in the swatch below but the left is how I use it , and the right is how it looks built up. It goes orange. It’s very smooth and matte, but seriously unless you use as little as me it doesn’t look great. There’s better out there for the same price. 

MUA Blusher In Candy Floss: This one was a bit smaller than I expected (actual size wise) but it’s all product which is great. I won’t lie it scared me a lot when I first saw it. It’s very pink. Even picking it up on my finger it was bright! But when it’s blended down it becomes the most gorgeous, luminous little glow of colour and I adore it! It’s not chalky at all, very smooth to apply all day blends like a dream. It’s lasting power is around 6-7 hours, but it doesn’t go patchy all-around it fades. It’s my new go to blush for every day! 

Overall: This has been a  it of a long post I know, so I’ll say goodbye quickly ! Crush is definitely a company I’ll order from again, and I was pretty happy overall with each product! And all up for these and the shadow palette it was about the $90 mark which I won’t complain about! 

Author: LozAudrey

Beauty wannabee, with two toddlers to chase around.

Leave a Reply

